We were delighted to see so many of the local Landcare and Friends groups enjoying the Awards event which was held in Ballan the evening before the 2014 Landcare Expo.

Eighty people attended the reception at Ballan Mechanics Institute to see individuals and groups across the Shire of Moorabool honoured for environmental work associated with Landcare.

Individuals awarded for long term significant contribution to the local environment (sponsoring group in brackets) included;

  • Ken Stanley (Pentland Hills LG),
  • John Sheehan and Deirdre Davey (Rowsley LG),
  • David and Barbara Pye and Norris McCarthy (Bullengarook LG),
  • Elspeth Swan, John and Maureen Fish (Moorabool Catchment LG),
  • John Davies and Pat Liffmann (Blackwood – Barrys Reef LG),
  • Bryan Hanrahan and Phil Kinghorn (Lal Lal Catchment LG),
  • Ken Beasley (Grow West),
  • Ruth Marnie and Simon Jolly (Parwan LG).

Outstanding environmental projects by Landcare groups were also acknowledged and included -

  • Pentland Hills LG – annual planting days,
  • Rowsley LG – annual community aerial spraying of Serrated Tussock and also for the Whitehorse Creek biolink project,
  • Bullengarook LG - nest boxes for arboreal native animals,
  • Friends of Brisbane Ranges - biennual wildflower show,
  • Blackwood-Barrys Reef LG – a community awareness program on weeds threatening the surrounding forest,
  • Moorabool Catchment LG - gorse and Serrated Tussock control project,
  • and the Friends of Paddock Creek Reserve for conservation enhancement works at the reserve.

Myrniong Primary School and St Patricks Primary School at Gordon also received recognition for their significant contribution to environmental education.

As the citations were read out, it was clearly evident that the individuals and groups had made an enormous contribution toward improving the natural environment in the Shire.

President of the Moorabool Landcare Network, Mr Anthony Dufty, said the awards evening was only possible due to Grow West (major sponsor), Ballan and District Community Bank, Moorabool Shire Council, Moorabool Catchment Landcare Group, and the Port Phillip and Westernport Catchment Management Authority.


Loading script and Flickr images